Installing Dual Booting with Windows/Linux: The day of my first achievement

·

3 min read

As a developer, what was the first achievement you accomplished?

I can say mine was.... Installing Dual Booting with Windows/Linux.

Why Linux?

Until late 20s, I only used Windows as all 99% people in the world. I had written python codes from time to time, but I still stick not to leave my comfort zone. There were times I consider to install Linux, but it looks so complicated and scary to use, and I thought it is only for geniuses.

Then, it changed when I started AI fellowship course in AiCore. The first session was about OS, and I was one of few people using Windows!! (Surprisingly, lots of people use MacOS!)

And I was advised to install Linux, as Windows can cause so many issues in future sessions. The coding is already overwhelming to catch up, and the issue from OS is certainly not what I want. It was the certainly time to overcome my fear..!

How did I do it?

I asked the reference for installation and followed the instruction on the site. It is a great article describing the whole process step by step. Every step was clear and there are detailed troubleshooting instructions. If anyone has in mind, I highly recommend to read it.

I read through the article a few times, and borrowed a USB from my husband. I noticed my computer becomes quite slow and there are so many libraries I installed when I didn't know much about, so I decide to reset my computer and install Linux on top of it.

My Timeline

10:00pm I started with the easiest and the most important task, backing up my files. This took quite a time as I found so many pictures of my dog when he was a puppy.

10:45pm I was recommended to install Ubuntu, so I downloaded the latest version from the official website. Then I created a Ubuntu USB with Rufus. The article was extremely helpful as it has a detailed description with screenshot.

11:00pm And then I reset Windows. It was so easy in Windows10, but it takes so much time... and I had a coffee break.

12:30am After reset my computer, I made some free space on my second disk(D:) for Ubuntu installation. And finally, I boot from live Ubuntu USB.

12:40am When I boot the system, it starts with installing Ubuntu. Fortunately, it went really smoothly and the only problem was... another long long waiting...!

3:30am I don't remember how many times I kept falling asleep for 10 minutes and woke up to check the status, but it finally finished after almost three hours.

I could see Linux screen, and I was so thrilled as everything seems working fine.

...until I reboot the computer ;(

GRUB didn't show and my computer automatically boot Windows!! My brain got numb and I was desperate to sleep, but I needed to sort it otherwise I would have a nightmare...

4:00am After some amount of googling, I found you can change the order of booting in Windows. So, I opened Command Prompt as an administrator and type the command below.

bcdedit /set {bootmgr} path \EFI\ubuntu\shimx64.efi

That was it! I installed Linux on my computer. Then I passed out quite quickly.

How is it so far?

Now, I am using Linux for almost 3 weeks, and I don't know why I was so afraid to use this!

It is so easy to install libraries, and I haven't encounteredd any issues so far. I don't even want to think how much time I wasted so much time to fix the issues by using Windows!

Of course, commands are different and UI is so tricky, but I am sure I will get used to it soon. I am so glad I finally decide to change the platform!